#53 – It is for freedom that Christ has set you/me/us free :)

261138478362916547_fPEfcvAC_b

…You might remember me talking a couple of times about my struggle with anxiety…and that I’m working on finding a new way of life this year…one where I rest on God’s love and stop trying to justify my existence by over-achieving and exhausting myself.

Well, this morning has been a struggle. I felt stressed, guilty, rotten. Nothing in particular happened, I just found myself slipping into old habits of judging myself on how much I had/had not got done/crossed off my list/cleaned etc. It’s crazy but it’s something that makes daily life quite difficult at times.

So to combat this chain of events – and to stop it from seeping in and twisting my gut for the rest of the day – I popped on ABC3 for the kids and snuck into my bedroom with a coffee and my laptop. I have some beautiful, strong, Godly women, right there on my favourites bar, for moments like this, when I need a word of Godly encouragement and wisdom.

I flicked over to John and Lisa Bevere’s blog and check out what was there, just for me to read (that’s how it felt anyway!):

“It is for freedom that Christ has set you free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.” Galatians 5:1 NIV

Live Boldly

Christ has set you free! He did not do so to tame or control you, or to watch your life from afar. It was for freedom that you have been set free! Run free, then, in the unbelievable freedom and love Christ has given you!

It can be easy to fall back into old habits that enslaved you in the past. But I urge you, brothers and sisters, to stand firm! Do not allow the enemy a foothold in your life! Claim your freedom and proclaim it! It’s time to embrace the freedom Christ has so freely given us!

(continue reading Lisa’s post here)

A weight just fell off my shoulders. Now I can smile at today, knowing that my value is in the fact that God (the creator of the universe no less) loves me!…instead of finding my value in a list covered with ticks…I know I’m not the only one that struggles with this *smile*!

So, have a lovely day. And be encouraged that God loves you.

xx

Leave a Reply

