I’ve had an idea.. let me know what you think

Question. Can $10 really change the world?

I believe it can, which is why The Sunflower Effect exists; a place where I (plus others, more on that later) can give what I can, when I can, to people who need it most. It’s kind of like sowing a seed. If I give $10 for example, that’s a seed, which will grow and multiply as it feeds, nourishes or heals a person.

In Kenya, my $10 can:

$2 = three nutritious meals for a pregnant girl

+

$3 = intense, one-on-one counselling session

+

$1 =clean water for one girl

+

$4 = two weeks rent for one girl

So, what if a group of us did what we could with what we had? What if we planted all the seeds and ideas that were within us? Would those seeds and ideas grow into something amazing and beautiful? What could God do with that?

Just because seeds are small isn’t reason enough to keep them hidden away, unplanted. It is impossible to see what can become of a seed until it has been planted and watered.

This is the challenge I’ve set myself – until I finish raising $1000 for Mercy House Kenya – you’re welcome to join me if you’d like to.

The Sunflower Effect Challenge is this:

  1. Choose an organisation/effort you want to support. Me: Mercy House Kenya
  2. Sign up by clicking here and commit to raising $10 a week, fortnight or month. I’ve committed to at least $10 a month
  3. Find a way to raise your money eg. sell some things on eBay, bake for friends, sell your garden produce, spend $10 less on groceries this week..

Together we can support and encourage each other!

Sunflower

(we are all under the same sun; we have a responsibility to care for each other)

+

The Butterfly Effect

(the notion that a small change in one part of the world can have a large effect somewhere else)

=

The planting of our small seeds can change lives

xx 

*The Sunflower Effect supports the work of The Mercy House Kenya and Kristen Welch (wearethatfamily.com)

 

One thought on “I’ve had an idea.. let me know what you think

Leave a Reply

