It’s a Bake-Off!

You’ll have to excuse me.. I’m having a bit of a proud mum moment. Even though it’s been a month since the fact, I’m bubbling with happiness that somehow, my kids seem to be getting it.. They’re beginning to understand the impact they can have on the world.. That they have power, wealth, priviledge* to share with others.

My oldest daughter, Isabella (8 years old) decided that she wanted to do something to help the ladies and their babies at Mercy House in Kenya. She had seen the photos of the new babies and we had talked about the fact that in some countries, women aren’t looked after as well as we are over here – especially when they are pregnant and having a baby. She had remembered that some women aren’t as safe as they need to be and that sometimes their babies get sick, and that sometimes they even die.

I love that her little heart was moved by this.

With MasterChef being all the rage right now (despite the fact that we’ve never even watched it – how do they do that?!) she’s right into cooking. So she decided to bake for friends.. she got to work, created a menu and an order sheet and started taking orders from friends and family. She made scones, anzac biscuits, chocolate cakes, chocolate slice and banana cakes. The homemade flyers were a hit.. as was the very professional ordering sheet and the top level money change counting skills..It took us a full day to do the baking (!!) but her proud face was priceless when we counted up all the money and she realised that she had made over $90.

..love how she spelt ’cause’..

I was so encouraged by her efforts. I want to find more ways to keep my kids involved in the world around them..

*by ‘power, wealth, priviledge’ I mean simply that they live Australia, a country of plenty, where dreams can and do come true… just thought I should clear that up!

*The Sunflower Effect supports the work of The Mercy House Kenya and Kristen Welch (wearethatfamily.com)

2 thoughts on “It’s a Bake-Off!

  1. Dear Joni, that’s so precious……….I have teary eyes. For me ‘compassion’ is at the top of the list of the character traits we want to see develop in our children. Give my regards to Isabella and tell her I would have bought a chocolate slice.

Leave a Reply

