Elizabeth

I set myself a challenge today, International Women’s Day…

…and chose to write to Elizabeth, a girl, 17 years old, soon to become a mother, who has chosen to fight for a better life for herself and that of her child…

20120308-140623.jpg

 

I don’t know her story, but I know that it’s a sad one. And yet she has such a beautiful smile.

For me, today is about celebrating Elizabeth and others like her. Where do they find the courage to fight? How do they ever trust again? I just don’t know.

I think the strength women possess passes understanding. Especially when they realize how much they are Loved.

Elizabeth

 

*The Sunflower Effect supports the work of The Mercy House Kenya and Kristen Welch (wearethatfamily.com)

One thought on “Elizabeth

  1. Pingback: Week’s Wrap-up « Every (1) Matters

Leave a Reply

