On the Art of Not Missing Out

Sometimes I feel like I’m missing out.. Please don’t misunderstand me when I say this but I spend so much time and energy being a mum and a wife that there rarely seems much left to put towards my future, dreams and hopes as a woman, a person, as Joni. I am absolutely in love with my kids and think I’m the luckiest girl on the planet to have snagged the man I did but that doesn’t mean it’s easy.

I know my feelings aren’t original. Probably most mums have felt the same way at some stage, I guess it’s something we all go through..

The luxury of finishing a complete thought (a complete sentence), freedom to get a good education, time to dream, plan and work towards your dreams, these are the things sacrificed for a time. But it is only for a time that these are replaced by hand made cards scrawled with “I love you Mum”, close cuddles with a tired child and the opportunity to learn selflessness (or at least to try!).. which is a subject I’ve been being challenged a lot on lately (grrr!!!)

While I’m determined to enjoy the season I’m in, I can’t deny the stirrings of an exciting future set before me by the One who plans all my days. Dreams to leave the world different to how it was when we entered. Dreams to give our children an amazing future. Dreams to live life to it’s absolute fullest. As I set my heart on doing my absolute best as a mum to young children, it’s important that I keep my dreams alive for just a little bit longer, until they can flourish and fly.

I now realize that I am not missing out, I’m just waiting my turn..

Women are strong, beautiful and never fail to amaze by how much we can achieve in one lifetime. So, if you’re in the same place as me and need help remembering your dreams, here’s a little help from one woman who had her turn before we did..

Her Excellency Ms Quentin Bryce – Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia

Read her biography here and be inspired.. “A debilitating illness of my own and a frightening one in our baby son eventually reined in my teenage hope that I could do it all; I could, but not all at once” (Vogue Sep 09). Wise words!

 

Image

2 thoughts on “On the Art of Not Missing Out

Leave a Reply

