Why I Only Donate To Christian Charities

Yep, when it comes to charities and charitable organisations, I’m discriminatory. This is how I see it; there are way too many people living beneath the poverty line. They lack clean water, food, shelter, safety, necessary medical care, education and on many different levels – freedom. These problems are huge but this is where God comes in – only He is big enough to fix them. He also has a plan.

Secular organisations and charities do a lot of good but there’s something they can’t give – God. And this world needs God. It is estimated that there are 2 billion people out there who have never heard the name of Jesus or been given the opportunity to respond to His love. When I donate to christian charities and organisations, my money goes not only to helping out with physical and emotional but also (and more importantly) spiritual needs. It sends people to places I can’t go to have conversations I can’t have.

Physical poverty may last a lifetime but spiritual poverty is eternal.

These charities do a great job meeting peoples immediate needs and also sharing God’s love:

Compassion

Metamorphic International

Destiny Rescue

The A21 Campaign

What about you – what charities do you give to? Do you give to only secular or only christian charities? Do you give to both?

Image

5 thoughts on “Why I Only Donate To Christian Charities

  1. By nature I have always been generous, even prior to becoming a Christian. I could never walk past anyone collecting money for charities without giving something if I had something to give.
    On becoming a Christian God led me to serve in the area of alleviating Child poverty (physical & spiritual) and I am now an Advocate for Compassion Australia.
    I did not choose to direct my gifts and finances towards Compassion based solely on the fact they are a Christian organisation although it was a large factor. I had already been supporting various charities in this area for years.
    I made an informed decision after being led to research various organisations both secular and Christian and realising after many years of giving that my money was in fact lining the pockets of Executives being paid ridiculous salary’s.
    After visiting Compassion projects in Peru and seeing the incredible impact they are having and researching financials of the organisation (which are fully transparent) compared to major secular organisations in this field it was an easy choice.
    My journey led me to the realisation that many people have what can be coined “a heart” for a certain cause, as I said mine was Child mortality/poverty for others it may be the planet, Child Exploitation, cancer and so forth.
    I strongly feel that whatever your “heart” is that you research various charities etc in those areas and direct your energy, talents and finances to an organisation which is transparent in their finances and morally just in their wages for Directors etc as well as researching how and where their time and finance will be delivered.
    Not everyone with a “heart” for a particular cause is a Christian but these people should not base their giving on the fact an organisation is Christian or non-Christian but rather research charities to make sure their resource is being delivered to those they most have it in their hearts to help. In many instances it is the church who is already on the ground working in the poorest nations with the poorest people and so “the church” generally know where money is most needed.
    It is better to focus your energy on one cause you have researched than to give in dribs and drabs to organisations you know little about. Your time and money can literally change lives and being responsible about your giving can make all the difference.
    I think it is important as Christians and citezens of planet Earth to remember this example of Jesus…
    Mark 1:41 Moved with compassion, Jesus stretched out His hand and touched him…
    When Jesus felt Compassion….He reached out and touched.
    Jesus showed us by example that when we feel Compassion we are to “reach out and touch”.

    How we will do that is the question we need to ask.

    • Good point Lee-Ann.. It’s important to look carefully into a charity or organisation before we start supporting. Thanks for your comment! xx

  2. I have only ever given to charities with a clear policy against proselytisation, even in the past when I was a Christian, and as an atheist now I only give to secular charities. I do this for a number of reasons.

    Having a proselytising arm to a charity sets up a conflict of interest where the efficacy of the humanitarian aspect is compromised in the interests of gaining converts. “Samaritans Purse” and their shoebox appeal is a good example of this – the shoeboxes themselves are costly to gather and transport, and contain toys and trinkets, nothing materially useful, as a vehicle for tracts and religious materials. This is money that could be put to good use providing food, water, and community development, but obviously that was never the objective of this program in the first place. If people want to support proselytisation then that’s their choice, but they should not deceive themselves that they are providing charity out of the simple kindness of their hearts.

    I also worry that the recipients may feel obliged to take-on the religion in exchange for the goods. One should not have to choose between keeping one’s faith watching one’s children starve to death. In the most famous case where that impossible choice was forced upon a desperate people – the souperism of the Irish potato famine – that action sowed the seeds of a bitter resentment that resonates to this very day.

    Finally there is the issue of ideology trumping effective action. A secular organisation is more likely to choose the strategy that has the most empirical evidence in support of it. However a religious organisation may, e.g., refuse to provide condoms to high AIDS-risk people simply because their Catholic dogma demands it, or even worse, spread misinformation about the effectiveness of condoms as some religious orgs in Africa have been caught doing. I would be horrified if money I sent to combat AIDs went instead to ensuring that even more people die of it.

  3. As a Christian, I donate to Christian charities merely because of the fact that we are called to “look after orphans and widows in their distress”. I want my message to get across to the people I financially support that there is a Christian that cares about you and that through a Christian charity, I can get them not only their necessities here on earth but also introduce them to Christ, who has saved me and has blessed me. Secular groups offer people hope through materials, but materialistic things come and go, but God will always be there, no matter what. I am not against secular charities, but I put my money where my faith is.

Leave a Reply

