I (ain’t) Got That Lovin’ Feelin’

We’re all busy and, as I was saying to a friend yesterday; after I’ve had a crazy hectic day with the kids, mentally exhausting day with work and the usual emotional ups and downs of being a woman, where on earth am I going to find energy or time for ‘that’? (‘that’ being certain after-hours activities conducive to a healthy marriage.. )

When the marriage isn’t going so well, it seems that nothing goes well. Is it the same for you? We’ve been suffering from the age-old ‘No Connection Syndrome’ for the last month so I thought I’d find some ways of breaking the cycle (hopefully they’ll involve only a small amount of time and effort!)

I found some great ideas – and a few corny ones. Check out this one: “go out for pizza and ask them to cut it into the shape of a heart”. Blerk!

So, I’ve sorted them, according to different obstacles couples may have.

No babysitter? Solved.

  1. Pick a TV show, get a season’s worth on DVD and make a running date to watch it together every night.
  2. A late night movie or soak in the tub works a treat.

Short on cash? Easy peasy.

  1. Try live entertainment, such as a band at a local bar, instead of a movie.
  2. Set up a rotation with three other families and take turns minding each other’s kids.

As you can see, I couldn’t find all that many that were practical for this stage in life but they’re definitely a good start. But feel free to add your own! Please leave your ideas in the comment box for others.

The sites I searched were all quite different to each other but they all said the same thing: think about what your partner or spouse needs and do that. I know, it’s hard when we’re already so tired but it’s a bit of a cycle: “He’s not fulfilling my needs so I have nothing left to give him”.. “Well she’s not fulfilling my needs so I’m too tired to do anything special”.. Someone needs to break the cycle! Okay, I’m putting my hand up. Anyone care to join me?

Thanks for the ideas:

Red Book

The Mars Hill Blog

Blissfully Domestic

Image

One thought on “I (ain’t) Got That Lovin’ Feelin’

Leave a Reply

