Day 37: Sharing Your Life Message

I will forever be grateful to God for the message He has given me. The story which – because of Him – is my life, is nothing short of miraculous. I hope I never forget that and always turn back to Him with a grateful heart. I also hope to always have the strength to share it when it needs to be heard. It’s a story that is hard to tell but I’m hoping to share it with you soon. In fact, I’ve already started working on a post.

Chapter 37 of our journey through The Purpose Driven Life deals with, I’m sure you already figured, sharing our message!

You may feel you don’t have anything to share, but that’s the Devil trying to keep you silent. The bible says, “Those who believe in the Son of God have the testimony of God in them.” Your Life Message has four parts to it:

  • Your testimony: the story of how you began a relationship with Jesus. This is the essence of witnessing – simply sharing your personal experiences regarding the Lord. Your personal testimony is more effective than a sermon, because unbelievers see pastors as professional salesmen, but see you as a “satisfied customer,” so they give you more credibility. The best way to be ready (to share your testimony) is to write out your testimony and then memorise the main points. Divide it into four parts:

    • What my life was like before I met Jesus
    • How I realized I needed Jesus
    • How I committed my life to Jesus
    • The difference Jesus has made in my life
  • Your life lessons: the most important lessons God has taught you. While it is wise to learn from experience, it is wiser to learn from the experiences of others. There isn’t enough time to learn everything by trial and error. Write down the major life lessons you have learned so you can share them with others. Here are a few questions to jog your memory and get you started:
    • What has God taught me from failure?
    • What has God taught me from lack of money?
    • What has God taught me from pain or sorrow or depression?
    • What has God taught me through waiting?
    • What has God taught me through illness?
    • What has God taught me from disappointment?
    • What have I learned from my family, my church, my relationships, my small group and my critics?
  • Your Godly passions: the issues God shaped you to care about most. As you grow closer to Him, He will give you a passion for something He cares about deeply so you can be a spokesman for Him in the world. God gives us different passions so that everything He wants done in the world will get done. You should not expect everyone else to be passionate about your passion. Instead, we must listen to and value each other’s life message because nobody can say it all. Never belittle someone else’s Godly passion.
  • The Good News: the message of salvation. “The Good News shows how God makes people right with Himself – that it begins and ends with faith,” (Romans 1:17). The Good News is that when we trust God’s grace to save us through what Jesus did, our sins are forgiven, we get a purpose for living and we are promised a future home in heaven. God has never made a person He didn’t love. Everybody matters to Him. We must care about unbelievers because God does. Love leaves no choice. A parent will run into a burning building to save a child because their love for the child is greater than their fear. If you’ve been afraid to share the Good News with those around you, ask God to fill your heart with His love for them.

I really enjoyed this chapter. Perhaps because it helps to have guidance when putting words to your testimony.

As I said yesterday, witnessing has always been really hard. I’m certainly going to take that advice and ask God to fill me with love for the people around me, so that telling them about Him becomes a MUST.
What about you? Do you share your testimony often? What about your life lessons, Godly passions or the message of salvation? Has this been a journey for you or has it come naturally?

I’d love to hear what you think – you can even share your story if you like. I’d love to read it!!

Have a great day,

Joni xo

<Image>

PLEASE NOTE: Quotations in this and other posts relating to The Purpose Driven Life (usually entitled Day:?) are sourced from The Purpose Driven Life book by Rick Warren unless otherwise stated. This is an independant study and is based on my opinion and experience only. Copies of The Purpose Driven Life book are available for purchase from all good christian books stores, including Koorong. The first seven chapters of the book can be downloaded FREE from Rick Warren’s official site here.

One thought on “Day 37: Sharing Your Life Message

  1. Pingback: When Hope Gives You Wings You Don’t Need Legs! | The Ripple Effect

Leave a Reply

