Day 36: Made for a Mission

It’s hard telling someone about Jesus. At least, it is for me. I invite people to church but to actually say, “You know what? Jesus loves you so much,” is a whole ‘nother story. I’m reading Reinhard Bonnke’s autobiography Living a Life of Fire and am amazed by how easily he talks to people about God – not just from a pulpit, but one on one as well. This is something I’ve always struggled (and wanted) to do. My approach seems more gentle – less confrontational, whether I want it to be or not.

Chapter 36 of The Purpose Driven Life talks about the fact that we have a mission and a ministry. We are called to serve other believers through our ministry, and serve unbelievers through our mission. While a ministry call is unique to each person, we all have the same mission; “Christ changed us from enemies into His friends and gave us the task of making others His friends also,” 2 Corinthians 5:18. Enter; the Great Commission.

I felt a real temptation to get all down on myself and put myself under a big dose of condemnation until I reminded myself that condemnation is never from God. Even though we all have the same mission, we all live that out differently. Perhaps the people I’m praying for and inviting to church right now need gentle shoves here and there, rather than a full-on ‘ABC’s of the gospel’ sermon, which others would definitely need but I find impossible to put into words when I ‘think’ it’s needed. God puts unbelievers in the path of the person He knows will be and do exactly what is needed. How great are the infinite differences in God?!

Fulfilling your life mission on earth is an essential part of living for God’s glory. The Bible gives several reasons why your mission is so important.

  • Your mission is a continuation of Jesus’ mission on earth. In the Great Commission Jesus said, “Go to the people of all nations and make them my disciples. Baptize them in the name of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit and teach them to do everything I have told you.”
  • Your mission is a wonderful privilege. Although it is a big responsibility, it is also an incredible honour to be used by God. Your mission involves two great privileges: working with God and representing Him.
  • Telling others how they can have eternal life is the greatest thing you can do for them. If your neighbour had cancer or AIDS and you knew the cure, it would be criminal to withhold that lifesaving information. Even worse is to keep secret the way to forgiveness, purpose, peace and eternal life. We have the greatest news in the world and sharing it is the greatest kindness you can show to anyone.
  • Your mission has eternal significance. It will impact the eternal destiny of other people, so it’s more important than any job, achievement, or goal you will reach during your life on earth. This does not mean you should quit your job to become a full-time evangelist. God wants you to share the Good News where you are. As a student, mother, preschool teacher, salesman or manager or whatever you do, you should continually look for people God places in your path with whom you can share the gospel.
  • Your mission gives your life meaning. William James said, “The best use of life is to spend it for something that outlasts it.” The truth is, only the kingdom of God is going to last.
  • God’s timetable for history’s conclusion is connected to the completion of our commission. When the disciples want to talk about prophecy, Jesus quickly switched the conversation to evangelism. He wanted them to concentrate on their mission in the world. He said in essence, “The details of my return are none of your business. What is your business is the mission I’ve given you. Focus on that!”

There are a few people that I’d love to see come to Jesus. This study has encouraged me to ask God to fill my mouth with His words everytime I see them… that way I can always be sure that they’re hearing the words they need to hear – confrontational or not.

What about you? Is evangelism something you struggle with or does it come naturally to you? It certainly comes naturally to one man I know – he’s always bring someone to God! It never fails to amaze me.

I can’t wait to hear what you think!

Until next time,

Joni xo

<Image>

PLEASE NOTE: Quotations in this and other posts relating to The Purpose Driven Life (usually entitled Day:?) are sourced from The Purpose Driven Life book by Rick Warren unless otherwise stated. This is an independant study and is based on my opinion and experience only. Copies of The Purpose Driven Life book are available for purchase from all good christian books stores, including Koorong. The first seven chapters of the book can be downloaded FREE from Rick Warren’s official site here.

Leave a Reply

