Day 32: Using What God Gave you

Man, we’re nearing the end of our Purpose Driven Life journey already! I’m actually quite excited because I feel like once I’ve finished this project (40 days of purpose, blogged) I can move onto the next one and I’m really looking forward to finding out what it is! I’ve learned so much by undertaking this journey. The process has taken much longer than I thought (blogging daily is tough! Three times a week seems much more manageable) but I’ve learned a lot about myself and my purpose and also about blogging. As much as I love blogging (and I certainly do), I have a long way to go.

Anyway, back to the Purpose;

God ordained our purpose before we were born. He decided exactly what He wanted us to do and designed us accordingly. Once we surrender our life to Him, nothing can stand in the way. I love this Danish proverb: What you are is God’s gift to you; what you do with yourself is your gift to God.

The bible says, “Don’t act thoughtlessly, but try to find out and do whatever the Lord wants you to.” Eph 5:17

Here are some Purpose Driven Life tips to discovering your shape:

Assess your gifts and abilities: Take a long, honest look at what you are good at and what you’re not good at. Ask questions like these: Where have I seen fruit in my life that other people have confirmed? Where have I already been successful? Don’t try to figure out your gifts before volunteering to serve somewhere. Just start serving. You will never know what you’re good at until you try. When it doesn’t work out, call it an ‘experiment,’ not a failure. You will eventually learn what you’re good at.

Consider your heart and personality: Paul advised, “Make a careful exploration of who you are and the work you have been given, and then sink yourself into that.” Ask yourself questions: What do I really enjoy doing most? When do I feel the most fully alive? What am I doing when I lose track of time? Do I like routine or variety? Do I prefer serving with a team of by myself? Am I more introverted or extroverted? Am I more a thinker or a feeler? Which do I enjoy more – competing or cooperating?

Examine your experiences and extract the lessons you have learned: Review your life and think about how it has shaped you. Moses told the Israelites, “Remember today what you have learned about the Lord through your experiences with Him.” Extracting the lessons from your experiences takes time. I recommend that you take an entire weekend for a life review retreat, where you pause to see how God has worked in the various defining moments of your life and consider how He wants to use those lessons to help others.

The bible warns us to never compare ourselves with others: “Do your own work well, and then you will have something to be proud of. But don’t compare yourself with others.”

In heaven we are going to serve God forever. Right now, we can prepare for that eternal service by practicing on earth.

How exciting! I get such a buzz whenever I remember that this life is a time of growth and that nothing we’ve ever seen can compare to what God has instore for us.

God deserves my best. He deserves everyone’s best. What can you do today to find out a little more of what God has put inside you? Have the questions sparked any thoughts or feelings? How do you feel about living to serve God? It’s a big call.

I hope this has been a thought-provoking post for you – it certainly has been for me! Let me know what you thought.

Have a wonderful day and I’ll see you next time!

Joni xo

Image

PLEASE NOTE: Quotations in this and other posts relating to The Purpose Driven Life (usually entitled Day:?) are sourced from The Purpose Driven Life book by Rick Warren unless otherwise stated. This is an independant study and is based on my opinion and experience only. Copies of The Purpose Driven Life book are available for purchase from all good christian books stores, including Koorong. The first seven chapters of the book can be downloaded FREE from Rick Warren’s official site here.

Leave a Reply

