Hear Their Stories, Tell Their Stories

There are some pretty bad things going on in the world. Really bad things. It’s always hard seeing people go through such hardship but some things particularly stir my heart. My heart stirs, my eyes overflow and my mind goes into overdrive. What can I do to help? Surely there’s something I can do.

It’s during these moments that I must remind myself that God WILL use me to help a dying world and that He’s already told me how to begin. Raise awareness. Raise awareness? Write a blog. Tell your friends. Help raise money. Tweet about it. It seems like such a small, unimportant role. Especially when it’s difficult to drive traffic to your blog, many people don’t want to hear about it and money purses are tightly clamped shut. But that’s what He’s asked me to do so that’s what I’m gonna do.

I thought I’d share some of the issues that have found their way deep into my heart. A place where God inhabits, where He gets to decide what the next step is. These are the topics I can’t abide. That my soul cries out to change. That my life is being melded to transform.

Human Trafficking

Poverty

I know these videos are hard to watch. Tears will fall. Hearts will break. But this, I believe, is part of our mandate; to cry with those who cry and then pick ourselves up and fight for their freedom.

So please. Hear their stories and tell their stories.

“The Spirit of the Lord is on me,
because he has anointed me
to preach good news to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners
and recovery of sight for the blind,
to release the oppressed.” Luke 4:18

5 Ways to Tell Their Stories:

1. Tweet this post. Short link: http://wp.me/pRB4D-3g

2. Email it to your friends

3. Check out A21

4. Visit Compassion

5. PRAY. Ask God what you can do. He WILL tell you: If My people who are called by My name will humble themselves and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land. 2 Chronicles 7:14

<Image>

Leave a Reply

