Day 16: What Matters Most

No matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love. 1 Corinthians 13:3b

I was amused to see that today’s chapter is about love and relationships. Relationships have been taking a pounding around our family lately… friends leaving husbands, others contemplating doing so and others still, booking in for marriage counselling after years of arguing to no end.

Having been there for many years at one (very long) stage in our marriage, I feel deeply for all these friends. I have an underlying sadness that cannot be shifted, no matter how much I try to support them, no matter how much I pray for them.

My husband and I talk about this often because I have a habit of taking on other’s problems and carrying their pain like a heavy black box. I’m learning to hand things to God, including the miseries my friends are suffering through at the moment. The sadness hasn’t left though and I’m wondering if God wants it to stay there.

The Purpose Driven Life is saying in today’s chapter that life it all about love. Without love we have nothing. It is what we’ll be asked about in heaven and it’s the only thing that lasts. It is our main responsibilitiy here on earth. To love.

What is love? How far down does it go? Does it mean taking your friends to God in prayer but grieving with them all the same? Does it mean not knowing what to say but praying for the words and saying nothing when that’s all that comes? Does it mean being sad when your friends are sad, or is that imbalance? Is that carrying their burdens when only Jesus can do it properly? What is love when things are hard, when an “It’ll be okay” is insincere and laughter is nowhere to be found?

This is something I’m so unsure about. Can I shift this sheath of sadness? Should I even try?

What do you think?

PLEASE NOTE: Quotations in this and other posts relating to The Purpose Driven Life (usually entitled Day:?) are sourced from The Purpose Driven Life book by Rick Warren unless otherwise stated. This is an independant study and is based on my opinion and experience only. Copies of The Purpose Driven Life book are available for purchase from all good christian books stores, including Koorong. The first seven chapters of the book can be downloaded FREE from Rick Warren’s official site here.

<Image>

Leave a Reply

