Day 12: Developing Your Friendship with God

Following on from yesterday’s chapter, our relationship with God is the MOST important thing in our life. The Purpose Driven Life explains that there are four more keys to gaining an intimate relationship with God; honesty with God, obedience to God, choosing to value what God values and desiring friendship with Him more than anything else.

I was amazed by the section on honesty. Apparently it’s okay to complain to God! I always thought it was best to be honest, but only to a point. I often share how I’m feeling if I’m a bit down or tired or overwhelmed but TPDL takes it way further;

In the Bible, the friends of God were honest about their feelings, often complaining, second-guessing, accusing, and arguing with their Creator. God, however, didn’t seem to be bothered by this frankness; in fact, he encouraged it.

… God did not slay Jeremiah when he claimed that God had tricked Him. Job was allowed to vent his bitterness during his ordeal, and in the end, God defended Job for being honest, and He rebuked Job’s friends for being inauthentic. God told them, “You haven’t been honest either with me or about me – not the way my friend Job has… My friend Job will now pray for you and I will accept his prayer.”

… Can God handle that kind of frank, intense honesty from you? Absolutely! Genuine friendship is built on disclosure. What may appear as audacity God views as authenticity. God listens to the passionate words of His friends; He is bored with predictable, pious cliches. To be God’s friend, you must be honest to God, sharing your true feelings, not what you think you ought to feel or say.

Wow! How amazing! Even when we’re angry with God, or doubting Him, we can tell Him! Even better – He want us to tell Him! There’s freedom to express exactly how we feel and by doing so, we’re allowing Him to come in and heal our wounds. God’s mercy and kindness never fails to amaze me.

TPDL question to consider for today is… What practical choices will I make today in order to grow closer to God?

The book suggests that if we feel like we’re not as close to God as we’d like (my hand is up!) that we simply ask Him to improve our relationship. For example: “God I really want to be close to You. I want my relationship with You to be my number one priority. Please help me with it because I’m struggling.”

Do you have a story about your relationship with God? Has He always been your priority?

<Image>

PLEASE NOTE: Quotations in this and other posts relating to The Purpose Driven Life (usually entitled Day:?) are sourced from The Purpose Driven Life book by Rick Warren unless otherwise stated. This is an independant study and is based on my opinion and experience only. Copies of The Purpose Driven Life book are available for purchase from all good christian books stores, including Koorong. The first seven chapters of the book can be downloaded FREE from Rick Warren’s official site here.

2 thoughts on “Day 12: Developing Your Friendship with God

  1. I LOVE that you did a post on Rick Warren’s amazing book. I just did a post inspired by his “40 days of love study”. I think you may enjoy it. Keep up the great work!! : )

    • Thanks for your lovely comment! I haven’t heard of the 40 days of love study.. I’ll have to look into it – sounds great! I had a look at your blog too – I love it! I’m following you on Twitter (jonisjottings) so I can keep up to date with what you’re up to. You keep up the good work too xo

Leave a Reply

