Day 11: Becoming Best Friends with God

How awesome that God wants to be BEST friends with us?! In Old Testament times it was more common to be in fear of God than to consider Him your friend.

Since we were restored to friendship with God by the death of His Son while we were still His enemies, we will certainly be delivered from eternal punishment by His life. Romans 5:10

The Purpose Driven Life says there are five keys to building a great relationship with God. Wouldn’t it be great to be able to say honestly that God was your best friend? I’d love that.

The first two keys which were studied in today’s chapter are:

  • Be in constant conversation with God
  • Meditate continually on His word

In my experience, you share you deepest secrets with your best friend. You run to them when you’re having a tough day. You celebrate them when there’s victory. You cry with them during defeat. Best friends are an integral part of our lives… we couldn’t do without them. That’s how I want to be with God. I don’t want to BE ABLE to do without Him. In my daily life, in the small and big things, I want to be aware of Him there with me, cheering me on. He’d be an awesome best friend. He’d never be offended by something I said. He wouldn’t forget to call me when I had a doctor’s appointment. It’s never too late at night to talk to Him. He never plays favourites, He always has time, He always has love. What a wonderful friend to have!

TPDL question to consider: What can I do to remind myself to think about God and talk to Him more often throughout the day?

<Image>

PLEASE NOTE: Quotations in this and other posts relating to The Purpose Driven Life (usually entitled Day:?) are sourced from The Purpose Driven Life book by Rick Warren unless otherwise stated. This is an independant study and is based on my opinion and experience only. Copies of The Purpose Driven Life book are available for purchase from all good christian books stores, including Koorong. The first seven chapters of the book can be downloaded FREE from Rick Warren’s official site here.

2 thoughts on “Day 11: Becoming Best Friends with God

Leave a Reply

