Day 10: The Heart of Worship

Give yourselves to God… Surrender your whole being to Him to be used for righteous purposes. Romand 6:13

If you’re reading this blog, chances are you have a great desire to be useful for God on this earth. Today’s study is a total contradiction to how we’ve often been taught to live this out. The heart of worship is surrender… which means everything we are we give to Him. It means we trust Him completely with our  present, past and future. It means we give Him all our shortcomings, weaknesses and failings. Also our desires, dreams and aspirations. If we want to be truly useful to Him, we must surrender to Him. It means we don’t necessarily sit down and work out exactly how our life is going to pan out and how our goals will be reached, but instead we allow Him to direct our paths.

I grew up in a single parent home. My mum raised my brother and I from the time we were babies so I was accustomed to having a highly capable, strong mother who also had a deep relationship with God. When my husband and I got married I struggled with my identity as a wife and a mother. Mums were supposed to be able to do everything. I didn’t know how Matt fit into the equation either. I was used to having a mum who HAD to do everything. Submission and surrender were always difficult for me, especially when it came to God. Unfortunately I didn’t feel like I could trust Him. Even though I grew up in a christian home and gave my heart to God as a young child, I didn’t want to surrender my life to Him. I was certain my whole world would fall apart and that I’d have to live a miserable, hard life. I don’t know why I thought that but the mindset plagued me for years into adulthood.

During the past year, God has broken through that horrible mind trap. He has shown me time and again that He wants the best for me, my husband and our children and that He will NEVER let us down, He will NEVER forget our needs and He will NEVER fall short. I am absolutely loving this new season of being completely surrendered to Him. At first, I surrendered tentatively, dipping my toe in to see what would happen. He is a loving and patient God so He waited and helped me slowly come to a place where I could fully trust and therefore fully surrender my life to Him.

Since He has become the driving force of my every day, miracles have begun to happen daily: colds, tummy aches and infections healed, bills covered and prayers tangibly answered. Most exciting of all has been the constant peace and calm which now reigns in my heart. I’m a highly motivated sort of person and I can run myself in rings with the amount of ‘things’ I need to get done, goal charts and lists. God has shown me which things I do need to do and others that can be disregarded. He also gives me the peace, time and capacity to do all the things He does want me to do.

Living a life surrendered to God is incredibly exciting – it’s such a buzz! I can’t wait to see what the future holds for our family because I know that there is nothing more powerful than a life lived for God.

Being fully surrendered is hard sometimes, human nature is to pull back and start striving when things get tough. God knows that. The bible says, “If people want to follow me, they must give up the things they want. They must be willing to give up their lives daily to follow me.” Luke 9:23 I’m trying to keep this close to my heart.

TPDL question for today: What area of my life am I holding back from God?

PLEASE NOTE: Quotations in this and other posts relating to The Purpose Driven Life (usually entitled Day:?) are sourced from The Purpose Driven Life book by Rick Warren unless otherwise stated. This is an independant study and is based on my opinion and experience only. Copies of The Purpose Driven Life book are available for purchase from all good christian books stores, including Koorong. The first seven chapters of the book can be downloaded FREE from Rick Warren’s official site here.

<Image: Celestial Photography>

Leave a Reply

