Day 6: Life is a Temporary Assignment

As I’m reading through today’s chapter of The Purpose Driven Life, I can feel the excitement of new revelation and hope coarsing through my veins. This is really great stuff! If you haven’t already, can I encourage you to buy a copy of the book or download the first seven chapters for free from the official Rick Warren website here.

If you’ve missed the first few days, catch up here.

Today’s chapter is incredible – everything is coming together in my mind – hopefully in yours too.. I hope you don’t mind but I’m going to use a big chunk from the book today. This stuff is too good to miss!

Image

Compared with other centuries, life has never been easier for much of the Western world. We are constantly entertained, amused, and catered to. With all the fascinating attractions, mesmerizing media, and enjoyable experiences available today, it’s easy to forget that the pursuit of happiness is not what life is about. Only as we remember that life is a test, a trust, and a temporary assignment will the appeal of these things lose their grip on our lives. We are preparing for something even better . “The things we see now are here today, gone tomorrow. But the things we can’t see now will last forever.” (2 Corinthians 4:18b)

The fact that earth is not our ultimate home explains why, as followers of Jesus, we experience difficulty, sorrow, and rejection in this world. It also explains why some of God’s promises seem unfulfilled, some prayers seem unanswered, and some circumstances seem unfair. This is not the end of the story. In order to keep us from becoming too attached to earth, God allows us to feel a significant amount of discontent and dissatisfaction in life – longings that will never be fulfilled on this side of eternity. We’re not completely happy here because we’re not supposed to be! Earth is not our final home; we were created for something much better. (The Purpose Driven Life, Rick Warren)

Need I say more? Well, perhaps I’d better otherwise it wouldn’t be fair to say I’d written this post!

Of course we will have happy moments here. We’re not doomed to a life of misery. But I have been noticing lately that my happiness does affect my decisions too often. My own personal happiness and that of my family holds too much priority.

I love this: “All that is not eternal is eternally useless.” – CS Lewis

The world defines success as popularity or material prosperity. Perhaps this isn’t a true gauge. Many biblical heroes suffered terribly, right up until their death. This doesn’t mean they failed or that they weren’t successful.. the end of life here is not the end.

TPDL question of the day: How should the fact that life on earth is just a temporary assignment change the way I am living right now?

PLEASE NOTE: Quotations in this and other posts relating to The Purpose Driven Life are sourced from The Purpose Driven Life book by Rick Warren unless otherwise stated. This is an independant study and is based on my opinion and experience only.

Leave a Reply

