Day 5: Seeing Life From God’s View

Hi all! We’ve nearly finished our first week already. I hope you’re enjoying this  journey as much as I am..

‘The way you SEE your life SHAPES your life.’

How we perceive our life is very important. Everyone sees life differently, as a race or a carnival, even as a battle or a party. We need to allow God to show us how He sees our life.. that’s quite an exciting thought. I wonder how God sees my life?

TWFT explains that the bible gives us three metaphors to help us learn about God’s view on our life; life is a test, a trust and a temporary assignment.

I guess it’s pretty obvious when we look at the bible (and our own lives) that life is a test. Amongst others, Abraham, Jacob, Adam and Eve and Joseph all faced tests. Some passed, some failed. Tests build our character – Do you see what I’ve done? I’ve refined you, but not without fire… Isaiah 48:10 – and sometimes it’s hard, sometimes it hurts.

Image

This is a wonderful revelation because if we’re refined and built through tests it means that God intends for us to be constantly improving and becoming more and more useful, more and more like Him! God promised He wouldn’t test us more than we could bear; God keeps His promise, and He will not allow you to be tested beyond your power to remain firm; at the time you are put to the test, He will give you the strength to endure it, and so provide you with a way out – 1 Corinthians 10:13.

This also means that every slow driver in our way, every mucked-up schedule, every occasion for offence is a test – an opportunity to improve on ourselves and God is there with us to help us through – how cool is that?!

TPDL goes on to explain that God notices when we pass our tests. ‘Blessed are those who endure when they are tested. When they pass the test, they will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love Him. – James 1:12

As far as life being a trust goes, this is all about the fact that God owns everything and everyone on earth. What we do with what he has lended to or entrusted us with, matters. TPDL says: ‘If you treat everything as a trust, God promises three rewards in eternity. First, you will be given God’s affirmation… receive a promotion… then you will be honoured with a celebration’

From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked – Luke 12:48

This is a big one for me. God has rescued me from a pretty tough life journey. I feel like I’ve been given so much. I’m excited to be able to be entrusted with such an incredible story. I do feel that responsibility – I’ve been given much so much will be demanded from me. And I’m very happy for it to be that way :o)

Today’s TPDL question: What has happened to me recently that I now realise was a test from God? What are the greatest matters God has entrusted to me?

PLEASE NOTE: Quotations in this and other posts relating to The Purpose Driven Life are sourced from The Purpose Driven Life book by Rick Warren unless otherwise stated. This is an independant study and is based on my opinion and experience only.

Leave a Reply

