Day 4: Made to Last Forever

This is not all there is’.

That’s a relief! Sometimes life can be overwhelming and under-rewarding but thankfully, after our lives have ended on earth, Eternity awaits and offers so much more than earth ever could.

TPDL explained today that the reason we feel cheated and that it’s unfair when a loved one dies is because God has ‘wired our brains’ to think that way. ‘God has…planted eternity in the human heart’ Ecc 3:11

Image

Our Earthly life is a prequal, or as CS Lewis described in the final pages of The Chronicles of Narnia; ‘For us this is the end of all the stories… but for them it was only the beginning of the real story. All their life in this world… had only been the cover and the title page: now at last they were beginning Chapter One of the Great Story, which no one on earth has read, which goes on forever and in which every chapter is better than the one before.’

Today’s question: Since I was made to last forever, what is the one thing I should stop doing and the one thing I should start doing today?

Our pastor was talking about the importance of introducing people to God, in relation to ANZAC Day today and that even though it might cost us now, the rewards in heaven far outweigh the sacrifice. He said, “People who know they’re weak and choose to rely on God are made exceedingly strong.” I have a few school-mum friends I’ve been inviting to church and really want to see them meet with God. The thing I need to stop doing is allowing my fears and the opinions of others guide what I do. As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, no one can serve two masters. I MUST stop thinking about and worrying about what others think. It’s only what God thinks that matters.

As a carry on from this, I want to start stepping out more, taking risks for the sake of telling my friends about God. He has done amazing things in my life and I really want them to experience the joy and freedom He brings. I need to actively tell them about God, not just murmur something about going to church when they ask what I did on the weekend..

Those are my thoughts, what are yours? Is there anything you’ve realised needs to change?

PLEASE NOTE: Quotations in this and other posts relating to The Purpose Driven Life are sourced from The Purpose Driven Life book by Rick Warren unless otherwise stated. This is an independant study and is based on my opinion and experience only.

2 thoughts on “Day 4: Made to Last Forever

  1. Just last week I was reading Revelation 21, it describes the incredible beauty and magnificence of our eventual home … I am in awe that one day I will not only get to see it, I will live there, all because I have put my trust in Jesus!

Leave a Reply

