Day 2: You Are Not An Accident

I’ve mentioned before how excited I am to be a part of God’s plan to rescue the orphans, feed the hungry and free the slaves of this world. Discovering where I fit is a really important (and fun!) part of moving up and out of the comfort zone of home and into the world that needs us.

I’m reading Rick Warren’s The Purpose Driven Life and blogging as I go – kinda like a book club.

Join along if you like! Pick up a copy here or download the first seven chapters for free here.

If you missed yesterday’s post, catch up here.

DAY TWO: YOU ARE NOT AN ACCIDENT

You are not an accident.

That’s a profound statement. That means that even if our parents didn’t plan to have us, we are meant to be here. Even if we escaped death, we are meant to be here. Even if we’re struggling to find the reason why, we are meant to be here.

God said: I am your Creator. You were in my care even before you were born. Isaiah 44:2 (CEV)

or..

God who made you has something to say to you;
the God who formed you in the womb wants to help you. (MSG)

How wonderful!

The Purpose Driven Life (TPDL) goes on to explain that “God didn’t need to create you. He wasn’t lonely. But He wanted to make you in order to express His love”. We are His expression of love! It doesn’t get any better than that.

God says this about it: “I have carried you since you were born; I have taken care of you from your birth. Even when you are old, I will be the same. Even when your hair has turned gray, I will take care of you. I made you and will take care of you.” Isaiah 46:3-4

My favourite aspect is that if God made me exactly the way He wants me, it means He knows about my faults, my struggles, my failures. Even better – He doesn’t mind; He loves me despite them all! He knows the answers to my questions, the strength needed to cure my insecurities, He has the key to unlock my inner hurts. He WANTS to help us through our battles, personal or public.

So, here’s today’s TPDL question: I know that God uniquely created me. What areas of my personality, background and physical appearance am I struggling to accept?

One of the hardest things for me to accept about myself at the moment is the difficulty I have interacting with other people. I get nervous in crowds and usually say the wrong thing (like the time I told my friend’s lovely mum that she was ‘pushy’.. I didn’t mean it the way it sounded but that didn’t stop the hurt). I lose my confidence and as a result sometimes give the impression that I’m not interested in others or that I don’t have time to talk to them. Quite the opposite, I’m just scared. Thankfully, God has been helping me with this… I’ve found that when I ask Him to help, He does. He gives me the words when I don’t know what to say, warns me when I’m about to say something monumentally stupid and gives me a boost when I’m feeling ‘not good enough’.

Final thought:

You are who you are for a reason.

You’re part of an intricate plan.

You’re a precious and perfect unique design,

Called God’s special woman or man.


You look like you look for a reason.

Our God made no mistake.

He knit you together within the womb,

You’re just what He wanted to make.


The parents you had were the ones He chose,

And no matter how you feel,

They were custom-designed with God’s plan in mind,

And they bear the Master’s seal.


No, that trauma you faced was not easy.

And God wept that it hurt you so;

But it was allowed to shape your heart

So that into his likeness you’d grow.


You are who you are for a reason,

You’ve been formed by the Master’s rod.

You are who you are, beloved,

Because there is a God!


By Russell Kelfer

PLEASE NOTE: Quotations in this post and other posts relating to The Purpose Driven Life are sourced from The Purpose Driven Life book by Rick Warren unless otherwise stated. This is an independant study and is based on my opinion and experience only.

4 thoughts on “Day 2: You Are Not An Accident

Leave a Reply

